Adobe Firefly

Adobe's generative platform for image, video and audio

by Adobe

Overview

Firefly is Adobe's generative platform: a web and mobile product of its own that generates and edits images, video and audio and can lay work out on Boards, reaching Adobe's own models and third-party ones, and embedded inside Photoshop, Illustrator and the rest of Creative Cloud as Generative Fill, Expand and similar features. The terms are not one thing: Adobe says its own Firefly models were trained on Adobe Stock and licensed or public-domain material and offers indemnification to eligible enterprise customers, while third-party models Firefly can reach carry their own conditions and are not covered by that indemnity - and beta and trial features are outside the listed eligible features too. Plans are sold in local currency: the US page showed Standard at US$9.99 a month and Pro at US$19.99 a month billed monthly, while the Australian version showed A$16.49 a month including GST. Credits are shared across the apps - Standard, Pro, Pro Plus and Premium at 2,000, 4,000, 10,000 and 50,000 a month - but the split is not "standard versus premium consumes credits": standard image features such as Generative Fill are listed as unlimited, and it is the premium features that draw on credits. Some third-party model access advertised as unlimited is a limited-time arrangement with its own conditions, such as a first year and specific models or sizes. Accounts without a paid plan get a limited, variable number of generations a day on selected models, and app entitlements do not extend to every Creative Cloud application.

The API is a separate service family rather than a tier of the consumer app: Adobe's Firefly Services bundle the Firefly, Lightroom, Photoshop and Content Tagging APIs, access needs a Developer Console project with server-to-server credentials arranged with an Adobe representative, and API calls are metered as Operations under a qualifying SKU or plan. Whether a consumer Firefly subscription includes or covers API usage is not stated on the pages read (Adobe Firefly Services documentation, read 12 October 2026).

Editor's take

The choice to make is which model and which plan, not whether Firefly is safe: Adobe's own models come with a documented training position and indemnity for eligible enterprise agreements, while third-party models reached through Firefly do not inherit that, and outputs are not guaranteed to be unique. Read the credit split the right way round - standard image features such as Generative Fill are listed as unlimited while premium features consume credits - so plan by the premium work you actually need. And check your region's currency: Adobe sells in local currency, and the US page's $9.99 a month is not the Australian A$16.49.

Our reading of who this suits, based on the sources above. Opinion, offered to help you decide - not a lab result.

Direct comparisons

Key Features

  • •Image, video and audio generation and editing in one platform
  • •Generative Fill and Expand inside supported Adobe applications
  • •Boards for laying out and mixing generated material
  • •Adobe models plus a choice of third-party models
  • •Plan credits shared across the apps; standard features such as Generative Fill are listed as unlimited, premium features consume credits
  • •IP indemnity for eligible enterprise agreements and features, not for third-party or beta features

Use Cases

  • →Compositing and retouching inside Photoshop and Illustrator
  • →Generating images, video or audio without leaving Creative Cloud
  • →Enterprise work that needs an indemnified model and agreement
  • →Sketching on a Board before committing to an asset

Pros

  • ✓Works as a standalone platform as well as inside Adobe applications you already pay for
  • ✓A documented training position for Adobe's own models, with indemnity for eligible enterprise agreements
  • ✓Standard, Pro, Pro Plus and Premium plans cover 2,000 to 50,000 credits a month
  • ✓Standard image features are listed as unlimited, with the credit consumption attached to premium features

Cons

  • ✕Third-party models reached in Firefly are governed by their own terms and are not covered by Adobe's indemnity
  • ✕Access to third-party models advertised as unlimited is a limited-time arrangement with conditions such as a first year and specific models or sizes
  • ✕Beta and trial features are not among the eligible features for that indemnity
  • ✕Adobe sells in local currency - US$9.99 a month for Standard on the US page, A$16.49 including GST in the Australian version - so one region's figure is not another's

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Firefly free?

Accounts without a paid plan get a limited and variable number of generations a day on selected models, per Adobe's credits documentation - not the older monthly figure sometimes quoted. Paid plans are Standard, Pro, Pro Plus and Premium at 2,000, 4,000, 10,000 and 50,000 credits a month; standard image features such as Generative Fill are listed as unlimited, and the premium features are what consume credits.

How much does it cost?

Adobe prices Firefly in local currency. On the US page, Individuals Standard is US$9.99 a month and Pro US$19.99 a month, both billed monthly; the Australian version of the same page showed Standard at A$16.49 a month including GST. Check your own region's page rather than converting - and treat a figure seen only in a search snippet as unverified.

Are Firefly images safe to use commercially?

That depends on the model and the plan. Adobe states its own Firefly models were trained on Adobe Stock and licensed or public-domain material, and offers indemnification to eligible enterprise customers with the right agreement, features and plan; third-party models reached through Firefly do not inherit that, beta and trial features are excluded, and outputs are not guaranteed to be unique.

Do I get it in every Adobe app?

No - Firefly features are available in supported Creative Cloud applications, not all of them, and the web and mobile platform carries capabilities the embedded features may not. Check the app and the plan rather than assuming a Creative Cloud subscription includes the whole set.

How does this compare with Midjourney?

They are separate products with their own entries and plan terms here, and we have not compared their output, so this page does not claim one looks better. The difference that matters is the licensing path: Adobe documents the training material behind its own models and offers indemnity under eligible enterprise agreements, Midjourney is a subscription service with its own terms, and Firefly can also reach third-party models that Adobe does not indemnify.

Key facts and where they come from

PriceDocumented
US page: Individuals Standard is US$9.99 a month and Pro US$19.99 a month, both billed monthly; plan credits are 2,000, 4,000, 10,000 and 50,000 a month for Standard, Pro, Pro Plus and Premium. Standard image features such as Generative Fill are listed as unlimited while premium features consume credits, and access to third-party models advertised as unlimited is a limited-time arrangement with conditions such as a first year and specific models or sizes. Adobe also sells in local currency: the Australian version of the same page showed Standard at A$16.49 a month including GST.Source: Adobe Firefly - plans
AvailabilityDocumented
The Adobe Firefly FAQ states that Firefly is unavailable in Russia, Belarus and China. Adobe products and services also cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea, and the Donetsk and Luhansk regions. These exclusions are a published policy, not an independently tested access result.Source: Adobe Firefly FAQ - availability, licence and training
Commercial useDocumented
Adobe permits commercial use of output from non-beta Firefly features. Beta-feature output may also be used commercially unless the product explicitly states otherwise; the permission does not by itself provide third-party rights or an indemnity for every plan.Source: Adobe Firefly FAQ - availability, licence and training
Training on your dataDocumented
Adobe says Firefly models use licensed Adobe Stock content and public-domain content. It does not train on Creative Cloud subscribers’ personal content; Adobe Stock contributor content is a different, licensed dataset. This statement is not extended here to every Firefly input or every third-party model.Source: Adobe Firefly FAQ - availability, licence and training
API billingNot established
Firefly Services requires the relevant enterprise product provisioning, credentials and roles. Its qualifying shared-credit SKUs meter API actions in Operations, while a consumer Firefly subscription's API entitlement and coverage of those charges remain unestablished.Source: Adobe - Firefly Services and API billing · Official adobe-firefly reference
Export formatsDocumented
Adobe’s Firefly Web technical requirements document JPG and PNG image downloads. This image-specific statement does not establish video or vector containers, third-party model exports or every plan’s access; none was independently exported here.Source: Adobe Firefly Web — technical requirements
Usage limitsDocumented
US page: Individuals Standard is US$9.99 a month and Pro US$19.99 a month, both billed monthly; plan credits are 2,000, 4,000, 10,000 and 50,000 a month for Standard, Pro, Pro Plus and Premium. Standard image features such as Generative Fill are listed as unlimited while premium features consume credits, and access to third-party models advertised as unlimited is a limited-time arrangement with conditions such as a first year and specific models or sizes. Adobe also sells in local currency: the Australian version of the same page showed Standard at A$16.49 a month including GST. Accounts without a paid plan get a limited and variable number of generations a day on selected models; paid Firefly standard image and vector generation is separate from premium features that consume credits.Source: Adobe Firefly - plans · Adobe - generative credits FAQ

Official sources

The vendor pages we read for the claims on this page, what each one states, and the day we read it.

  • Adobe Firefly - plans ↗

    US page: Individuals Standard is US$9.99 a month and Pro US$19.99 a month, both billed monthly; plan credits are 2,000, 4,000, 10,000 and 50,000 a month for Standard, Pro, Pro Plus and Premium. Standard image features such as Generative Fill are listed as unlimited while premium features consume credits, and access to third-party models advertised as unlimited is a limited-time arrangement with conditions such as a first year and specific models or sizes. Adobe also sells in local currency: the Australian version of the same page showed Standard at A$16.49 a month including GST.

    Read on September 23, 2026

  • Adobe - generative credits FAQ ↗

    Accounts without a paid plan get a limited and variable number of generations a day on selected models; paid Firefly standard image and vector generation is separate from premium features that consume credits.

    Read on September 23, 2026

  • Adobe - Firefly product terms ↗

    IP indemnity requires an eligible agreement, feature, export behaviour and plan; third-party trained models and beta or trial features are not among the listed eligible features, and outputs are not guaranteed to be unique.

    Read on September 23, 2026

  • Adobe - Firefly Services and API billing ↗

    Read on 12 October 2026. States that Firefly Services includes the Firefly, Lightroom, Photoshop and Content Tagging APIs, that access requires an Adobe Developer Console project with server-to-server credentials arranged with an Adobe representative, and that API calls are metered as Operations under a qualifying SKU or plan. It does not state whether a consumer subscription includes API usage.

    Read on October 12, 2026

  • Adobe Firefly FAQ - availability, licence and training ↗

    The Adobe Firefly FAQ states that Firefly is unavailable in Russia, Belarus and China. Adobe products and services also cannot be used in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Syria, Crimea, and the Donetsk and Luhansk regions. These exclusions are a published policy, not an independently tested access result. Adobe permits commercial use of output from non-beta Firefly features. Beta-feature output may also be used commercially unless the product explicitly states otherwise; the permission does not by itself provide third-party rights or an indemnity for every plan. Adobe says Firefly models use licensed Adobe Stock content and public-domain content. It does not train on Creative Cloud subscribers’ personal content; Adobe Stock contributor content is a different, licensed dataset. This statement is not extended here to every Firefly input or every third-party model.

    Read on October 15, 2026

  • Adobe Firefly Web — technical requirements ↗

    Adobe’s Firefly Web technical requirements document JPG and PNG image downloads. This image-specific statement does not establish video or vector containers, third-party model exports or every plan’s access; none was independently exported here.

    Read on October 15, 2026

  • Official adobe-firefly reference ↗

    Shared Credit, effective 25 August 2026, uses Operations as its licence metric and can pool Operations for qualifying listed SKUs including Firefly Services; detailed action/workflow consumption is defined in an admin-console rate card. It does not state that ordinary consumer Firefly subscriptions include API charges.

    Read on October 15, 2026

Saved in this browser only; not synced across devices.

Public signals

Read on 2026-09-20 from the sources linked below.

No public signals have been collected for this entry yet. This does not imply that the product has no Wikipedia article or public repository. Details on this page come from the vendor's own product information.

Visit Website →

Basic Info

Pricing
Freemium
Plan price (reference)
US page: Standard US$9.99/month and Pro US$19.99/month billed monthly; Adobe also bills in local currency, e.g. A$16.49/month including GST in Australia
Launch Date
March 2023
Maker
Adobe
Last verified
September 23, 2026
Content updated
October 15, 2026

Compare with other tools in Image Generation

ProductMakerPricingLaunchedShared tags
FLUXBlack Forest LabsFreemium2024-08Image
IdeogramIdeogramFreemium2023-08-22Image
Leonardo AILeonardo AIFreemium2022-12Image
MidjourneyMidjourneyPaid2022-07-12Image
KreaKreaFreemiumLaunch date not verifiedImage
RecraftRecraftFreemium2023-05-31—

1 discontinued entry/entries in this category are not listed above. They stay in the catalogue with their status.