ChatGPT vs Gemini

Two catalogue entries side by side. Not a benchmark: we have not tested these products against each other.

Catalogue checked September 23, 2026.

ChatGPT

Plan price reference: Plus $20/month; API usage is billed separately

  • Can produce confident but wrong answers
  • Available models and limits depend on the plan

Gemini

  • Plan names, prices and limits vary by region
  • Consumer-plan coverage of programmatic API charges remains unverified

Monthly and annual billing are different commitments: the annual figure is a prepayment, and an annual equivalent is not a monthly price. Nothing on this page is a test of output quality, and the list below names the official sources this entry uses with the date each was read - check them against the plan and the use you have in mind.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

Side-by-side comparison of the selected products. An empty cell means we have not verified that fact here - it is not a statement that the product lacks it, nor that the vendor has not disclosed it.
What you are decidingChatGPTOpenAIGeminiGoogle
What it is forOpenAI's conversational assistantGoogle's multimodal AI
Typical tasks
  • Drafting emails, essays and reports
  • Writing and debugging code
  • Brainstorming and research
  • Summarizing documents and data
  • Research across long documents
  • Drafting and summarising
  • Understanding and editing images
  • Work inside Google apps where the plan allows it
Pricing modelFreemiumFreemium
Plan pricing referenceFrom the vendor page listed, for the plan named. Not the lowest price worldwide: billing cycle, region and taxes change it.Plus $20/month; API usage is billed separatelyNo plan price stated on a vendor page we could read
Where it stops
  • Can produce confident but wrong answers
  • Available models and limits depend on the plan
  • Knowledge cutoff without browsing
  • Plan names, prices and limits vary by region
  • Consumer-plan coverage of programmatic API charges remains unverified
  • Workspace features depend on the account and plan
PriceDocumentedPlus is US$20 per month billed monthly. OpenAI lists Go, Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise as paid plans and states that they are priced per user per month, with monthly billing for Go, Plus and Business and annual billing for Business and Enterprise; the pricing page we read did not show the plan amounts.Source: OpenAI Help Center - What is ChatGPT Plus? · ChatGPT plans and pricingDocumentedLists a free tier plus Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra as the paid consumer plans, with availability varying by country. The page is localised by country: the copy served to this review on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥0 free, ¥725/month AI Plus, ¥2,900/month AI Pro and AI Ultra from ¥14,500/month for 5x Pro usage, in JPY rather than USD.Source: Gemini subscriptions
AvailabilityDocumentedOpenAI publishes a supported-country and territory list for ChatGPT on web and mobile. It includes the United States, United Kingdom, Japan and Singapore; access from outside listed regions may lead to an account being blocked or suspended. This is a declared support policy, not a per-plan sales guarantee or a test of local network access.Source: OpenAI Help - ChatGPT supported countriesDocumentedGoogle lists the Gemini web app in more than 70 languages and more than 230 countries and territories, but says mobile availability can differ. Its web country list marks Mainland China as Workspace only. This declared web support does not establish consumer access in Mainland China, eligibility to buy AI Pro or Ultra, or tested local network/account access.Source: Google Help - Gemini web availability
Commercial useDocumentedThe ChatGPT FAQ permits commercial use of outputs, including reprinting, selling and merchandising, for both free and paid plans, subject to OpenAI’s Content Policy and Terms. That permission does not remove the user’s obligations under those policies or establish rights in third-party material.Source: OpenAI Help - ChatGPT commercial outputsNot establishedPlan-specific output commercial-use conditions were not established by the registered consumer data-use source.Source: Gemini Apps Privacy Hub
Training on your dataDocumentedOpenAI states that content from ChatGPT and Codex may be used to train its models; training can be turned off under Data controls or through the Privacy Portal and stops applying to later conversations; temporary chats are not used to train models; submitted feedback may still be used; and Business, Enterprise, Edu and API inputs and outputs are not used for training by default.Source: OpenAI Help Center - how your data is usedDocumentedRead on 12 October 2026. States that activity is used to develop and improve services including generative AI models, that human reviewers read some data, that Keep Activity can be turned off to stop later chats being reviewed or used for training, that activity is auto-deleted after 18 months by default, and that reviewed data is disconnected from the account and kept up to three years. Does not state commercial-use conditions per plan.Source: Gemini Apps Privacy Hub
API billingDocumentedThe API is a separate product with its own billing and is not part of a ChatGPT subscription.Source: OpenAI Help Center - What is ChatGPT Plus?Not establishedDeveloper API billing through Cloud Billing and paid-key charges are documented, while Google AI plans advertise separate AI Studio and developer-credit benefits. Which programmatic API charges are covered for each consumer plan, account and region remains unestablished.Source: Google — Gemini API billing · Google One — Google AI plans (US English)
Export formatsDocumentedCompleted Deep Research reports in ChatGPT can be downloaded as Markdown, Word or PDF. Deep Research availability and usage depend on the plan, supported country or territory, and workspace permissions. The Word label does not establish a particular filename extension here; the evidence does not cover every ChatGPT surface or verify the correctness of exported reports.Source: OpenAI help — Deep research in ChatGPTDocumentedGoogle's 29 April 2026 Gemini app announcement lists generated Workspace Docs, Sheets and Slides, PDF, DOCX, XLSX, CSV, LaTeX, TXT, RTF and Markdown files. It says file generation is available to all Gemini app users globally and that most formats can be downloaded or exported to Drive; this is an official capability statement, not a tested export-fidelity guarantee.Source: Google — generate files in Gemini
Usage limitsDocumentedPlus subscriptions may include usage limits such as message caps, and those limits may vary with system conditions; because model availability and limits change over time, OpenAI directs readers to the model picker for the options on their account.Source: OpenAI Help Center - What is ChatGPT Plus?DocumentedLists a free tier plus Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra as the paid consumer plans, with availability varying by country. The page is localised by country: the copy served to this review on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥0 free, ¥725/month AI Plus, ¥2,900/month AI Pro and AI Ultra from ¥14,500/month for 5x Pro usage, in JPY rather than USD.Source: Gemini subscriptions
Facts
Category
Chat Assistants
Launched
November 30, 2022
Category
Chat Assistants
Launched
March 21, 2023
Where to check
  • Official site ↗
  • OpenAI Help Center - What is ChatGPT Plus? ↗
    What this source supportsPlus is $20/month billed monthly, available on the ChatGPT website and supported apps; API usage is billed separately. Also states that Plus subscriptions may include usage limits such as message caps, that those limits may vary with system conditions, and that model availability and limits change over time - the page directs readers to the model picker for the options on their account. Read on 14 October 2026 through a Wayback snapshot of this same help page because the live host blocks our requests (HTTP 403).
    Read on October 14, 2026
  • OpenAI Help Center - ChatGPT release notes ↗
    What this source supportsThe September 2026 entries describe connecting external accounts to plugins, and record the retirement of GPT-4.5 (June 2026) and o3 (August 2026).
    Read on September 23, 2026
  • OpenAI Help Center - how your data is used ↗
    What this source supportsRead on 12 October 2026 through a Wayback snapshot of this same help page because the live host blocks our requests (HTTP 403). States that ChatGPT and Codex content may be used to train models, that training can be turned off in Data controls or the Privacy Portal and stops applying to later conversations, that temporary chats are not used to train models, that submitted feedback may still be used, and that Business, Enterprise, Edu and API inputs and outputs are not used for training by default.
    Read on October 12, 2026
  • ChatGPT plans and pricing ↗
    What this source supportsLists the plans as Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business and Enterprise, and states that the paid plans (Go, Plus, Business, Enterprise) are priced per user per month, with monthly plans for Go, Plus and Business and annual plans for Business and Enterprise. Its comparison table marks the advanced models as unavailable on Free and on Go. Read on 14 October 2026 through a Wayback snapshot of this page because the live host blocks our requests (HTTP 403); no plan amount appeared in the text we read, so none is recorded here.
    Read on October 14, 2026
  • OpenAI Help - ChatGPT supported countries ↗
    What this source supportsOpenAI publishes a supported-country and territory list for ChatGPT on web and mobile. It includes the United States, United Kingdom, Japan and Singapore; access from outside listed regions may lead to an account being blocked or suspended. This is a declared support policy, not a per-plan sales guarantee or a test of local network access.
    Read on October 15, 2026
  • OpenAI Help - ChatGPT commercial outputs ↗
    What this source supportsThe ChatGPT FAQ permits commercial use of outputs, including reprinting, selling and merchandising, for both free and paid plans, subject to OpenAI’s Content Policy and Terms. That permission does not remove the user’s obligations under those policies or establish rights in third-party material.
    Read on October 15, 2026
  • OpenAI help — Deep research in ChatGPT ↗
    What this source supportsCompleted Deep Research reports in ChatGPT can be downloaded as Markdown, Word or PDF. Deep Research availability and usage depend on the plan, supported country or territory, and workspace permissions. The Word label does not establish a particular filename extension here; the evidence does not cover every ChatGPT surface or verify the correctness of exported reports.
    Read on October 15, 2026

Read the full entry

Entry read against its sources on September 23, 2026.

  • Official site ↗
  • Gemini subscriptions ↗
    What this source supportsLists a free tier plus Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra as the paid consumer plans, with availability varying by country. The page is localised by country: the copy served to this review on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥0 free, ¥725/month AI Plus, ¥2,900/month AI Pro and AI Ultra from ¥14,500/month for 5x Pro usage, in JPY rather than USD.
    Read on October 10, 2026
  • Gemini Apps Help - limits and upgrades for Google AI subscribers ↗
    What this source supportsDescribes what each Google AI plan changes for the Gemini apps, and lists the countries where Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra are available.
    Read on September 23, 2026
  • Gemini Apps Privacy Hub ↗
    What this source supportsRead on 12 October 2026. States that activity is used to develop and improve services including generative AI models, that human reviewers read some data, that Keep Activity can be turned off to stop later chats being reviewed or used for training, that activity is auto-deleted after 18 months by default, and that reviewed data is disconnected from the account and kept up to three years. Does not state commercial-use conditions per plan.
    Read on October 12, 2026
  • Google Help - Gemini web availability ↗
    What this source supportsGoogle lists the Gemini web app in more than 70 languages and more than 230 countries and territories, but says mobile availability can differ. Its web country list marks Mainland China as Workspace only. This declared web support does not establish consumer access in Mainland China, eligibility to buy AI Pro or Ultra, or tested local network/account access.
    Read on October 15, 2026
  • Google — Gemini API billing ↗
    What this source supportsGemini API uses Cloud Billing accounts, with free and paid tiers; using a paid API key in AI Studio can incur charges. This establishes developer billing, not a complete consumer-subscription inclusion matrix.
    Read on October 15, 2026
  • Google One — Google AI plans (US English) ↗
    What this source supportsThe US English plan page advertises expanded AI Studio access and Google Developer Program Cloud credits on named paid plans. Those benefits alone do not establish which Gemini API charges a particular consumer subscription covers.
    Read on October 15, 2026
  • Google — generate files in Gemini ↗
    What this source supportsGoogle's 29 April 2026 Gemini app announcement lists generated Workspace Docs, Sheets and Slides, PDF, DOCX, XLSX, CSV, LaTeX, TXT, RTF and Markdown files. It says file generation is available to all Gemini app users globally and that most formats can be downloaded or exported to Drive; this is an official capability statement, not a tested export-fidelity guarantee.
    Read on October 15, 2026

Read the full entry

Entry read against its sources on September 23, 2026.

Swipe the table sideways to see every column.

What the listings already say

Taken from this site's own entries, so the wording follows the vendors' terms rather than ours; it is our summary of their published material, not their text.

How is Gemini different from ChatGPT?

Both are multimodal assistants with free tiers. API billing and subscription-linked credits require separate checks; this review does not establish Gemini’s complete inclusion matrix. The difference this page can establish is in what the plan pages publish: ChatGPT Plus is listed at $20 a month billed monthly, while Google localises its subscriptions page by country, so the copy read on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥725 for Google AI Plus, ¥2,900 for Google AI Pro and from ¥14,500 for Google AI Ultra, with no single global price to compare in one currency. On data, both state that consumer activity may be used to train models and both provide a switch that keeps it from applying to later conversations; the pages read here do not set out Gemini commercial-use conditions per tier, and this page does not rank the two.

Read the Gemini listing