Gemini
Google's multimodal AI
by Google
Overview
Gemini is Google's multimodal assistant. It handles text, images, audio and video input, and the consumer app covers research, file understanding, image editing, Canvas and live conversation. The consumer app, developer API and Workspace integrations have different entitlements. The API uses Cloud Billing; Google AI plans also advertise AI Studio and developer-credit benefits. This review has not established every plan’s coverage of programmatic API charges. Capabilities and limits differ by tier and by country, and Google's availability notes change often, so the plan page is the thing to read for where you are.
Google localises that page by country, both in currency and sometimes in plan line-up, so no single global price is published here. On 10 October 2026 the page served to this review quoted Japan: free at ¥0, Google AI Plus at ¥725 a month, Google AI Pro at ¥2,900 a month and Google AI Ultra from ¥14,500 a month for 5x Pro usage. Those are one region's figures at one date, not a global rate; whatever your region shows is the figure that applies to you, and a dollar amount quoted elsewhere is unverified here.
Two data facts belong with the plan choice. Google states that it uses your activity to develop and improve its services, including training generative AI models, with human reviewers reading some of that data; turning Keep Activity off keeps later chats from being reviewed or used for training, and activity is auto-deleted after 18 months by default, while data already reviewed is disconnected from the account and kept for up to three years. Temporary chats are not used to train models. On ownership, Google states it will not claim ownership over the content, but the pages we could read do not set out commercial-use conditions per tier, and that part is left unestablished (Google Terms of Service and the Gemini Apps Privacy Hub, read 12 October 2026).
Editor's take
A starting point if you already work inside Google's products, because the integrations depend on the account, plan and region rather than on the assistant alone; the free tier exists with limits that vary, and the paid tiers run Plus, Pro and Ultra. The trap is assuming one subscription covers everything: API charges and any subscription-linked credits need checking, Workspace features depend on your account and plan, and plan names, prices and limits vary by region. This page does not rank it against other assistants, because we have not benchmarked them.
Our reading of who this suits, based on the sources above. Opinion, offered to help you decide - not a lab result.
Direct comparisons
Key Features
- •Native multimodal understanding across media types
- •Google Workspace and Search integrations where the account, plan and region support them
- •Large context windows for long documents, varying by model and tier
- •Coding and reasoning tasks
- •A consumer app on web and mobile, with the API as a separate developer product
- •Grounding that draws on retrieved information, with citations still to check
Use Cases
- →Research across long documents
- →Drafting and summarising
- →Understanding and editing images
- →Work inside Google apps where the plan allows it
Pros
- ✓A free tier exists, with limits that vary by plan and region
- ✓Google app integrations where your account and region allow them
- ✓Capabilities step up across the Plus, Pro and Ultra plans
Cons
- ✕Plan names, prices and limits vary by region
- ✕Consumer-plan coverage of programmatic API charges remains unverified
- ✕Workspace features depend on the account and plan
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Gemini free?
There is a free tier. Paid consumer plans are Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra. The subscriptions page is localised by country, so no single global price exists: read on 10 October 2026 it quoted Japan at ¥725/month for Plus, ¥2,900 for Pro and from ¥14,500 for Ultra.
Is Gemini Advanced still the paid tier?
Google now lists Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra as the consumer plans. If you see "Gemini Advanced" or "Google One AI" in older text, read it as an earlier line-up and check the current subscriptions page.
Does a Gemini subscription include the API?
The consumer app, developer API and Workspace integrations have different entitlements. The API uses Cloud Billing; Google AI plans also advertise AI Studio and developer-credit benefits. This review has not established every plan’s coverage of programmatic API charges.
Which plan do I need for Google app integrations?
It depends on the plan, the account and the region, so check the current subscriptions and availability pages rather than assuming a single tier covers everything.
How is Gemini different from ChatGPT?
Both are multimodal assistants with free tiers. API billing and subscription-linked credits require separate checks; this review does not establish Gemini’s complete inclusion matrix. The difference this page can establish is in what the plan pages publish: ChatGPT Plus is listed at $20 a month billed monthly, while Google localises its subscriptions page by country, so the copy read on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥725 for Google AI Plus, ¥2,900 for Google AI Pro and from ¥14,500 for Google AI Ultra, with no single global price to compare in one currency. On data, both state that consumer activity may be used to train models and both provide a switch that keeps it from applying to later conversations; the pages read here do not set out Gemini commercial-use conditions per tier, and this page does not rank the two.
Can Gemini generate downloadable documents?
Google's 29 April 2026 Gemini app announcement lists generated Workspace Docs, Sheets and Slides, PDF, DOCX, XLSX, CSV, LaTeX, TXT, RTF and Markdown files. It says file generation is available to all Gemini app users globally and that most formats can be downloaded or exported to Drive; this is an official capability statement, not a tested export-fidelity guarantee.
Key facts and where they come from
- PriceDocumented
- Lists a free tier plus Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra as the paid consumer plans, with availability varying by country. The page is localised by country: the copy served to this review on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥0 free, ¥725/month AI Plus, ¥2,900/month AI Pro and AI Ultra from ¥14,500/month for 5x Pro usage, in JPY rather than USD.Source: Gemini subscriptions
- AvailabilityDocumented
- Google lists the Gemini web app in more than 70 languages and more than 230 countries and territories, but says mobile availability can differ. Its web country list marks Mainland China as Workspace only. This declared web support does not establish consumer access in Mainland China, eligibility to buy AI Pro or Ultra, or tested local network/account access.Source: Google Help - Gemini web availability
- Commercial useNot established
- Plan-specific output commercial-use conditions were not established by the registered consumer data-use source.Source: Gemini Apps Privacy Hub
- Training on your dataDocumented
- Read on 12 October 2026. States that activity is used to develop and improve services including generative AI models, that human reviewers read some data, that Keep Activity can be turned off to stop later chats being reviewed or used for training, that activity is auto-deleted after 18 months by default, and that reviewed data is disconnected from the account and kept up to three years. Does not state commercial-use conditions per plan.Source: Gemini Apps Privacy Hub
- API billingNot established
- Developer API billing through Cloud Billing and paid-key charges are documented, while Google AI plans advertise separate AI Studio and developer-credit benefits. Which programmatic API charges are covered for each consumer plan, account and region remains unestablished.Source: Google — Gemini API billing · Google One — Google AI plans (US English)
- Export formatsDocumented
- Google's 29 April 2026 Gemini app announcement lists generated Workspace Docs, Sheets and Slides, PDF, DOCX, XLSX, CSV, LaTeX, TXT, RTF and Markdown files. It says file generation is available to all Gemini app users globally and that most formats can be downloaded or exported to Drive; this is an official capability statement, not a tested export-fidelity guarantee.Source: Google — generate files in Gemini
- Usage limitsDocumented
- Lists a free tier plus Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra as the paid consumer plans, with availability varying by country. The page is localised by country: the copy served to this review on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥0 free, ¥725/month AI Plus, ¥2,900/month AI Pro and AI Ultra from ¥14,500/month for 5x Pro usage, in JPY rather than USD.Source: Gemini subscriptions
Official sources
The vendor pages we read for the claims on this page, what each one states, and the day we read it.
- Gemini subscriptions ↗
Lists a free tier plus Google AI Plus, Google AI Pro and Google AI Ultra as the paid consumer plans, with availability varying by country. The page is localised by country: the copy served to this review on 10 October 2026 quoted Japan at ¥0 free, ¥725/month AI Plus, ¥2,900/month AI Pro and AI Ultra from ¥14,500/month for 5x Pro usage, in JPY rather than USD.
Read on October 10, 2026
- Gemini Apps Help - limits and upgrades for Google AI subscribers ↗
Describes what each Google AI plan changes for the Gemini apps, and lists the countries where Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra are available.
Read on September 23, 2026
- Gemini Apps Privacy Hub ↗
Read on 12 October 2026. States that activity is used to develop and improve services including generative AI models, that human reviewers read some data, that Keep Activity can be turned off to stop later chats being reviewed or used for training, that activity is auto-deleted after 18 months by default, and that reviewed data is disconnected from the account and kept up to three years. Does not state commercial-use conditions per plan.
Read on October 12, 2026
- Google Help - Gemini web availability ↗
Google lists the Gemini web app in more than 70 languages and more than 230 countries and territories, but says mobile availability can differ. Its web country list marks Mainland China as Workspace only. This declared web support does not establish consumer access in Mainland China, eligibility to buy AI Pro or Ultra, or tested local network/account access.
Read on October 15, 2026
- Google — Gemini API billing ↗
Gemini API uses Cloud Billing accounts, with free and paid tiers; using a paid API key in AI Studio can incur charges. This establishes developer billing, not a complete consumer-subscription inclusion matrix.
Read on October 15, 2026
- Google One — Google AI plans (US English) ↗
The US English plan page advertises expanded AI Studio access and Google Developer Program Cloud credits on named paid plans. Those benefits alone do not establish which Gemini API charges a particular consumer subscription covers.
Read on October 15, 2026
- Google — generate files in Gemini ↗
Google's 29 April 2026 Gemini app announcement lists generated Workspace Docs, Sheets and Slides, PDF, DOCX, XLSX, CSV, LaTeX, TXT, RTF and Markdown files. It says file generation is available to all Gemini app users globally and that most formats can be downloaded or exported to Drive; this is an official capability statement, not a tested export-fidelity guarantee.
Read on October 15, 2026
Saved in this browser only; not synced across devices.
Public signals
Read on 2026-09-20 from the sources linked below.
- Wikipedia interest
- 49067 views per monthArticle: Google Gemini (2026-07..2026-08)View source
Basic Info
- Pricing
- Freemium
- Category
- Chat Assistants
- Launch Date
- March 21, 2023
- Maker
- Last verified
- September 23, 2026
- Content updated
- October 15, 2026
More from Google
Compare with other tools in Chat Assistants
| Product | Maker | Pricing | Launched | Shared tags |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Qwen Studio | Alibaba | Free | 2023-04 | Chat, Multimodal |
| ChatGPT | OpenAI | Freemium | 2022-11-30 | Chat, Multimodal |
| Mistral Vibe | Mistral AI | Freemium | 2024-02-26 | Chat |
| Kimi | Moonshot AI | Freemium | 2023-11-16 | Chat |
| Grok | xAI | Freemium | 2023-11-03 | Chat |
| DeepSeek | DeepSeek | Free | 2023-11-02 | Chat |




